Week 2: Signifier / Signified

“All this means is that each sign takes a different type and refers to a different ‘thing’.”

– Scott’s Powerpoint. 

A sign is almost anything. Truely. Expanding, it is a complete ‘linguistic unit’ that contains a sound or a visual or both, and a meaning to that sound-image.

The signifier is like the catalyst, I guess you could say it comes first although our brains are very smart so most reactions seem simultaneous. The signifier: a sound or image is presented and we interpret it, the interpretation is labeled the ‘signified. Below are some personal examples.

 

Symbol, Icon or Index? Who know’s? Well Let’s see if I do.

Firstly my Key:

This picture of my key is firstly an index, why? because whenever I go to look for my key, it’s never because I simply want to look at my key, but instead because I need to use my car. This picture of my key is an index as it leads to another object, in this case my car, the key and the car has a relationship that links the signified and signifier, therefore whenever one is pictured alone it could be considered an index. This key also can be considered an icon because it looks like the thing it is trying to be. A key.
IMG_1469.JPG

Wow, lots of writing, that is very unnecessary for one picture. Let me be more snappy.

  • Flowers: Icon. Picture of flowers. Clearly flowers.  The image of the flowers are what they represent.
  • Ring? Well, Index because a ring is useless without a finger. Where there is a ring you would expect a finger, or possibly expect someone with commitment, and depending on the ring possibly someone with a good deal of money. This photo could also be considered an icon, because it is a flower, and a ring clearly showing what it is trying to represent. Lastly, this image is a symbol, because it has meaning to me but not to you. This ring is my mothers engagement ring given to her by my dad over 20 years ago. Cute? I really think so, you might not, because its a symbol. Its the meaning, the signified.
  • Tree necklace: Icon, because if you turn the image side ways which I haven’t been able to figure out how to do, it’s a tree. A index, a necklace implies a neck, everyone has one it’s normal.

 

Cute inspiration advice from your’s truely:

Be an Icon, a person that always clearly represents and embrace’s who the are. Courage? Overcomer? Stylish? Gamer?

Be an index that link’s people together through relationships. Let people see you and automatically cast their mind to the good that you stand for, the amazing things you achieve.

Be a living symbol of what you feel inside. Portray your true beauty, and originality by being authentic. Be aware that how you look, sound, and walk speaks a message for you. What do you want to say? 

Leave a Reply

