PROF/ENTER Week 4 (16th August)

Branding:

  • Is not a logo
  • Is not a corporate identity
  • Is not a product

SO what is branding? Branding is a persons personal feeling towards a product or a company, Its what the customers say it is.

Although we had touched on the fundamentals of branding in our Introduction to Story class I found the branding lesson taught from a Business and professional point of view hugely relevant and practical.

I have just taken over the social media/digital marketing for my Parents church and also running my own start up company The Dress Garden. (http://www.dressgardenhire.com) I have put the branding theories into action and saw considerable results in different ways.

Firstly, I have rephrased the captions on posts. I now phrase all posts with a thought, a quote or call to action – something with emotion in it, just like BMW and McDonalds. This in contrast to directly advertising the product, e.g. come to A event at B time on C day.

Here are a few examples:

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 10.51.49 AMScreen Shot 2016-08-18 at 10.51.12 AMScreen Shot 2016-08-18 at 10.51.27 AM

Secondly, I have tried to use more personal photos of people in the group with their consent obviously, especially on Facebook. Although the photos aren’t the best quality I have seen an increase in likes and comments, I believe this is because people find it more relational and also engage with post that have them or people they know in it.

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 11.01.00 AMScreen Shot 2016-08-18 at 11.01.29 AMScreen Shot 2016-08-18 at 11.01.11 AMScreen Shot 2016-08-18 at 11.05.14 AM

I have found branding extremely applicable to me and It has caused me to start thinking about going into digital marketing as a career.

I really wanted to get into the digital marketing team for our In class assignment but I felt that I already knew and have done a lot of research in that area so I decided to join the branding team. I am excited for the ICA however, I am worried about how much time and commitment it will require but also I worry about the longevity of the ecommerce site we create, I guess we just have to trust Chris has the vision and where he is leading us.

Leave a Reply

