Week 8: After Effects 101

This was my first time using After Effects. I am so happy I got to do this excersice. I never thought I would be able to create a green screen movie although it is small and basic I am quite proud of myself, but in reality our lecturer Carsten always breaks each step down plain and simple which I am thankful for. I wish I had more green screen material to work with but I will definitely develop this technique for the future. I do like video editing which is funny as it used to frustrate me, however with more time spent just playing round with the softwares the more I become familiar and experimental.

Firstly I added the cityscape background image. I then transferred the green screen footage layer and went to the effects panel to search for key light in which I chose the green colour to be cut just leaving the action man. I added the remaining explosion layer but placed them behind the main subject. Lastly, I used the explosion as a way to fade into a title sequence to finish.

 

Leave a Reply

